Board Meeting Regular Session

October 25, 2017

Minutes

The Chandler County Island Fire District (CCIFD) governing board met in a properly posted open public meeting on Wednesday, October 25, 2017. The meeting was held at the City of Chandler Fire Department Administrative Offices, located at 151 E. Boston Street, Chandler, Arizona.

The following agenda items were considered at the meeting:

1. CALL TO ORDER

The meeting of the CCIFD board was called to order at 6:04 p.m. by Chair E. Hurley.

2. <u>ROLL CALL</u>

Chair E. Hurley, Clerk J. Gerber and members K. Hasper, E. Lu (attended telephonically) and J. Young.

Guests - Bill Whittington, legal counsel and Kelly Vaughn, Administrative Manager.

3. **BUSINESS**

Item 1: Discussion and possible action to retain Mr. Bill Whittington as the CCIFD legal counsel (CCIFD #17-033).

Mr. Bill Whittington was in attendance at the meeting. He reviewed with the board his legal background. Mr. Whittington represents the Arizona Fire District Association and has represented fire districts throughout the state of Arizona.

Motion by Gerber / 2nd by Young: To approve Resolution #17-033, to retain Mr. Bill Whittington as the CCIFD legal counsel; Passed 5-0.

Item 2: Executive Session pursuant to A.R.S. §38-431.03.A.3 and §38-431.03.A.4: For the purpose of receiving and considering legal advice; and to instruct the district's attorney regarding the public body's position regarding Cannon damage claim and related insurance.

Motion by Young / 2nd by Hasper: To go into Executive Session; Passed 5-0.

Item 3: Discussion and possible action, direction to legal counsel and or staff for the purpose of resolving Cannon damage claim and related insurance. (CCIFD #17-034).

Motion by Hurley / 2nd by Hasper: To direct legal counsel to proceed as directed in executive session; Passed 5-0.

CHANDLER COUNTY ISLAND FIRE DISTRICT

4. ADJOURNMENT

Motion by Hurley / 2nd by Hasper: To adjourn the meeting at 6:44p.m; Passed 5-0.

CCIFD meeting minutes approved: November 8, 2017.

Edward R. Hurley, Board Chair

Jeff Gerber, Board Clerk

Kevin Hasper, Board Member

Janice Young, Board Member

Emily Lu, Board Member